News Release

New members of Central American Area Presidency

Elder Brian K. Taylor and Elder Alan R. Walker are the new counselors in the presidency.

The First Presidency, the highest governing body of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, has announced changes to Church leadership assignments globally on August 1, including changes to the Central America Area.


Elder Brian K. Taylor was called as first counselor and elder Alan R. Walker as second counselor respectively, of the Central American Area Presidency presided over by Elder Juan A. Uceda.

The Church is divided into geographical areas, including Europe, Asia North, the Caribbean and Central America. There are 15 areas outside North America and 6 areas within North America for a total of 21. The First Presidency assigns the Presidency of the Seventy to preside over the areas of the United States and Canada and assigns Area Presidencies to preside over selected geographic areas under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, the second presiding body in the government of the Church.

An area presidency consists of a president and two counselors. An area president is typically a General Authority, while counselors can be General Authorities or Area Seventies.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.